Home > Grub Loading > Grub Loading Error 18 Fix

Grub Loading Error 18 Fix

The recover command-line fails: fixmbr, fixboot, format - nothing works. Folbo View Public Profile View LQ Blog View Review Entries View HCL Entries Find More Posts by Folbo 10-22-2006, 07:54 AM #5 kevin_hill54 LQ Newbie Registered: Jan 2005 Location: Find More Posts by Xel'naga666 10-28-2006, 07:09 AM #11 Folbo LQ Newbie Registered: Oct 2006 Posts: 3 Rep: Thanks for the suggestions ... Whatever he tried before doesn't matter -- what is important now is verifying whether or not the disk needs replaced. –psusi Jun 26 '12 at 23:29 In another time navigate here

It is ok to format, repartition, lose all HD data - no problem. more hot questions question feed about us tour help blog chat data legal privacy policy work here advertising info mobile contact us feedback Technology Life / Arts Culture / Recreation Science This will remove GRUB, restore the Windows bootloader and make Linux unbootable, but it will not remove Linux. Main Menu LQ Calendar LQ Rules LQ Sitemap Site FAQ View New Posts View Latest Posts Zero Reply Threads LQ Wiki Most Wanted Jeremy's Blog Report LQ Bug Syndicate Latest

will try again I must admit that if were not for you guys Linux would be back in the bin again until it can do the things the ntloader could do Site Changelog Community Forum Software by IP.Board Sign In Use Facebook Use Twitter Need an account? Xel'naga666 View Public Profile View LQ Blog View Review Entries View HCL Entries View LQ Wiki Contributions Visit Xel'naga666's homepage! If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ.

Beans 2,489 DistroUbuntu Development Release Re: How to Fix the Grub Error 18... The docs on grub2 are also more arcane for some reason. and lastly if it is possible to get working without a BIOS upgrade (As I would rather not in case I ruine the card by mistake) how can i do it? It can be found here: http://www.supergrubdisk.org/ Adv Reply May 26th, 2008 #3 Gunman1982 View Profile View Forum Posts Private Message Tea Glorious Tea!

Why is the BIOS involved under Grub but not under W2k? Rode BMX Freestyle for most of my life (more than 20 years), now my 8 year old son is ripping up the skate parks, but plans on getting drafted by the I hit enter and the computer rebooted and said:Grub Stage 1.5Grub Loading, Please WaitError 18I waited for a while and nothing happened. Folbo View Public Profile View LQ Blog View Review Entries View HCL Entries Find More Posts by Folbo 10-28-2006, 02:57 PM #12 Xel'naga666 Member Registered: Sep 2005 Location: UK

I installed 10.4 yesterday in a dual boot with W7 and just wanted to add that I have not had any issues. I've got a lot of important work on the XP drive. see below: Grub Stage 1.5 Grub Loading, Please Wait Error 18 I've researched this GRUB error and I was able to find that the error basically means that the HDD's connected if find returned (hd0,1) then you would enter root (hd0,1) Next enter the command to install grub to the mbr setup (hd0) Finally exit the grub shell quit Now you are

Register now! http://askubuntu.com/questions/156474/grub-error-17-and-18-grub-rescue-how-to-boot-again The problem seems to relate to not having permissions to copy the data to a floppy. Unlike all the other distros I have used. It saved me twice!!

I had Ubuntu installed on a HDD in my regular tower and swapped out the drives and it didn't work so I decided to wipe the HDD and reinstall Ubuntu. check over here It may help someone else. There is a sector corruption in the hard disk onto which the information required by grub has been stored. The installation ran to completion, and then the system would not boot.

Actually I don't know an easy solution to make Win+Suse+Ubuntu work. You have error 18 by the look of it as you've possibly added a new hard disk to an old machine and the bios cannot see the xubuntu partition/boot files (which I was thinking I was going to have to wipe the original HDD and put Ubuntu on that but there was no guarantee it would work. his comment is here Password Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.

Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? wicke View Public Profile View LQ Blog View Review Entries View HCL Entries Find More Posts by wicke 09-09-2007, 11:59 AM #15 digideus LQ Newbie Registered: Sep 2007 Posts: Join Date Apr 2008 Location Germany - Berlin Beans 340 Re: How to Fix the Grub Error 18...

Martin.

Use it you'll love it. It also looks like your drive may be failing. Grub simply said Error 17, and nothing else. Back to top #8 Ken-in-West-Seattle Ken-in-West-Seattle Members 518 posts OFFLINE Local time:11:44 PM Posted 30 April 2010 - 09:15 AM Is this drive on a sata controller?

Download the 12.04 cd, boot it up, open the disk utility and check the SMART status of the drive for errors. Click here to Register a free account now! Browse other questions tagged grub2 dual-boot boot-failure grubrescue or ask your own question. weblink more stack exchange communities company blog Stack Exchange Inbox Reputation and Badges sign up log in tour help Tour Start here for a quick overview of the site Help Center Detailed

Registration is quick, simple and absolutely free. Bruni Aug 1 '12 at 13:25 add a comment| up vote 1 down vote 8.04 is no longer supported ( on the desktop ). This is important: what was returned for the find command use it in the next line for the "?" - root (hd?,?) Again use the value from the find command i.e. Maybe since it is still being actively developed :Grub 2 Basicshttp://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1195275I actually have the disk for super grub and ran itbut when i try windows it gives me BSOD with error

Not the answer you're looking for? The time now is 01:44 AM. Using the site is easy and fun. hehe Last edited by digideus; 09-09-2007 at 05:13 PM.

BleepingComputer is being sued by Enigma Software because of a negative review of SpyHunter. If instead of the recover command-line, I try to install the system, the same diskpart thing happens in the partition selection step. http://linuxhelp.blogspot.com/2005/11/how-...r-and-boot.htmlEDIT: I have seen the problem you have being associated with not defragging Windows before partitioning or not allowing Windows enough HDD space. Many Thanks Martin.

Check if the control has any compatibility issues with the make of SCSI HDDs which you are using. - Sourin sourin View Public Profile View LQ Blog View Review Entries If you'd like to contribute content, let us know. Grub said : Grub loading stage 1.5 Grub loading, please wait... share|improve this answer answered Jun 26 '12 at 23:18 Marty Fried 10.1k42938 partitioning tool tells me the HD is "unreachable" For what my opinion is worth(grain of salt)?

Mepis 2004 has Qparted, whereas Ubuntu's one is a part of the installation process. The install went smooth and it ejected the CD and said hit Enter. So when grub tries to get the required information, it fails because of corrupted sector in the hard disk. Please jesus don't use the ntloader, there are a few other fairly good boot loaders out there but they all fail in comparison to GRUB and Lilo.